Tuesday, 2/7/2012

My cousin, Tina, and I go on adventures when we can because it’s rare that our schedules are ever the same. We took advantage of her day off from two jobs and my cancellation of class and went grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s, got cupcakes at Babycakes in Hillcrest, got her nails done at Beauty Lounge, bought DVDs at the closing Blockbuster, ate at Ono Sushi then rented 50/50 (too cute!) from a Redbox. I know, I just used Blockbuster and Redbox in the same sentence, sorry!

We were too excited to try Marble Mint and the PB&J but were fooled!

The PB&J was disgusting!! It was dry and crumbly. The taste of it was so generic and the frosting was more than disappointing. You know you hate something when you eat less than half of it.  I tried to finish it to get my money’s worth but I couldn’t even do it. BTW we NEVER waste food, especially cupcakes.

I had high expectations for the Marble Mint because I love all things mint but this was super disappointing! It was dry and crumbly as well. The frosting tasted like the ones you get at the grocery store. The best part of it was the milk and white chocolate on top.

This is Ahi poke from Ono Sushi. I’ve been craving this for so long and had to get it as soon as possible. The Hawaiian restaurant I was interested in closed early so I decided to get it at a Japanese restaurant. It did the job and I was satisfied but it was nothing like poke from Hawaii.

This is tempura ice cream with strawberries. It was yummy but could have done without the dry shortbread.

2 comments
  1. suzette said:

    ummm…miss you heinas.

  2. Aw, I love Babycakes! I love their babycake, pistachio, and red velvet flavors.

Leave a comment